top of page

About the Augustinians


Who We Are: The Order of Saint Augustine

Augustinians are members of the Order of Saint Augustine, an international Catholic religious community of men and women.


The Order of Saint Augustine includes some 2800 Augustinians in 47 countries throughout the world.

In the United States, there are three regional provinces of Augustinians. We sponsor Villanova University, Merrimack College, several high schools, and many parishes. We have a variety of different ministries, including inner-city apostolates in the United States, as well as missions in Japan and Peru.


We collaborate with committed lay women and men and draw from our institutions and volunteers to bring Christian ideals into real life situations, especially for those in need around the world.


Learn More About Us


Learn about how we live in Community


Learn about our Restless spiritual calling


Learn about the History of the Order

More Questions than Answers?
Read our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Our Work as Augustinians

We are "Active Contemplatives." We serve in diverse ministries as pastors, educators, and missionaries, across the globe and in local communities.

Image by Amy Humphries

Making a Global Impact

Children Using Tablets

Educating Future Leaders


Building Intentional Community


Spreading Our Catholic Faith

9 Steps of Formation

Discern With Us

Discover the 9-Step Augustinian Formation Process

Step 1: Discernment

A man interested in religious life within the Augustinian Order will meet with a vocation director, who establishes a relationship and meets with the man to listen and discuss his interest in religious life. After evaluation, the vocation director introduces the candidate to the community and recommends that the discerner spend time with members of the Augustinian community.

Our North American Provinces

Similar to how a diocese covers a certain geographical area, the Augustinians are organized in provinces.  There are three provinces in the United States and one in Canada.  You can access any of the provinces' websites below.


Midwest & Canada

East Coast

West Coast


bottom of page